By Vidhi Gautam Updated on December 03rd, 2020

Banaras Hindu University (BHU) was established in 1916 in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. It is one of the top public central university founded by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya. BHU was formerly known as Central Hindu College. The university is affiliated with UGC, AIU and accredited with an 'A' grade by the NAAC (National Assessment and Accreditation Council).

BHU has 140 departments, 14 faculties, 3 constituent, 4 interdisciplinary centres schools, a constituent women’s college. It also has six advanced studies centres and several specialised research centres.